a moment of mush

Unless you have an infant or are a sickeningly early riser, weekend early mornings should be spent sleeping.

If you are bothering to be awake at 5:30 a.m. on a Saturday or Sunday morning, your choice of activities for this early hour is telling.

Example #1

On Saturday morning, my noisy, noisy neighbors were still/already awake at 5:30 in the morning having a lively screaming match (directly below my bedroom).

Example #2

On Sunday morning, I was awake at 5:30 because I was suffering from some kind of debilitating congestion/neck-pain/too-much-wine&carbs headache. I was fairly miserable, trying really hard to sleep it off, laying on an icepack, and trying to formulate what kind of medication would soothe me most effectively, since the best choice (Sudafed + Excedrin) didn’t seem like a great choice for 5:30 a.m. and I drank all the Nyquil already and the whole standing-up/walking-around thing is not feeling too great.

At 5:45 a.m., my boyfriend rolls in the door. He is awake because he likes to pretend he is 13 and stay up all night playing video games with friends.

At 5:48 a.m., my boyfriend is attending to my fatigued requests, pouring me an actual shotglass full of Dayquil in the dark, offering to heat up my hot-corn-bag, and generally being a saint.

I will say “thank you” by letting him sleep in.

I know, I’m too kind.

Leave a Reply

