Doldrums pt. 2

Okay, so this is what I eat every day:

(be prepared for boredom, people)

~

Things I Eat For Breakfast

2 eggs, either fried or with goat cheese as an omelet

some homemade granola with raisins and soy milk

lately, a Starbucks DoubleShot in a can, so I can be alive-awake-alert-enthusiastic while I write a paper before work

Things I Eat While I’m At Work/School

some kind of trail mix from Trader Joes

sharp cheddar

whole wheat water crackers

raw carrots

canned mandarin oranges

Things I Might Eat When I’m Still Hungry And Have 3+ Hours Left At Work/School

Gross soup from the food court

Expensive/mediocre sandwiches from the food court

Expensive apples from the food court

Tiny bags of chips from the food court

Luna bars

PB&J

Things I Might Eat For Dinner

Trader Joes frozen tamales

Sandwich with goat cheese, tomato, lettuce, mayo & pesto on sourdough

Sandwich with chicken, tomato, lettuce, mayo & pesto on sourdough

Green bean casserole

Broccoli, rice & cheese casserole

Spaghetti

Nachos

Crash potatoes with ketchup

Things I Might Eat For Dinner When Lance Isn’t Around

Tortilla chips and hummus

Tortilla chips and refried beans

Tortilla chips and salsa

Smoothie

~

Okay. That’s it. That’s really it. When I don’t have any soymilk, I make cinnamon toast to go with my eggs, I steam broccoli occasionally, and somehow I end up eating way more cookies and candy than a sane almost-25-year-old should, but really, that’s it. My entire culinary ouevre.

Problem 1: I eat too much sugar

Problem 2: I don’t eat any vegetables

Problem 3: I’m so sick of eating cheese and crackers and mandarin oranges and carrots and Luna bars and gross, expensive things!!

Problem 4: I gave up tortilla chips for Lent.

Problem 5: I gave up eating meat for the foreseeable future.

Problem 6: I can’t think of anything else to eat. Really.

My cooking needs are just so gd specific. I can really only be home to cook 2 nights a week, and on Thursdays Lance isn’t here so I feel very silly slaving over a hot stove when I could just eat tortilla chips. And I’m obviously not bringing enough food to school, but I don’t even want to eat the food I DO bring with me in the first place.

Gah.

So basically, I am looking for:

Tasty, portable, healthy vegetarian lunches with vegetables

Quick, simple, healthy vegetarian dinners with vegetables

Got any of those dinners laying around?

Without my 2 bags of Santitas a week, I might expire.

One Comment to “Doldrums pt. 2”

  1. I can’t help you with lunches because I always eat leftovers, but for other snacks if you’re sick of your current snacks:
    * Pretzels & hummus — Hey, it’s not tortilla chips!
    * Almonds & cherries — I just get them from the bulk area of the grocery store
    * Walnuts & cranberries
    * Edamame –You can get these single-packs in the frozen aisle that you just pop in the microwave. Then sprinkle a little salt, and YUM!
    * These Clif Mojo bars that come in flavors like PBJ.

    Quick, simple, healthy vegetarian dinners with vegetables
    * Black bean tacos: Tortilla with black beans, avocado, tomato, and cheese (which is optional but I am addicted to cheese). Takes like 10 minutes and is SO delicious.
    * Spaghetti: For more protein, add some soy grounds (from frozen aisle) to the sauce. If you’re trying to cut soy, try the Quorn brand, which is made of a mushroom-type thing.
    * Easy chili: Buy a can of beans or two (we use lentils & red beans), heat up with some chopped tomatoes, chili powder, onions, etc. If that sounds good, lemme know & I’ll send you a good recipe.

    Gotta get ready for work now!

Leave a Reply

