days, weeks, and hours

I’m asleep for 8 hours of the day and awake for 14.

14 hours times 5 days equals 70 hours of wakefulness. Although wakefulness is relative between the 6 and 8 a.m. hours of the day.

Class consumes 9 hours each week.

Work consumes 20.

Each day, I spend an hour or an hour and a half in transit, between places, waiting for the bus, riding the train, walking when the train goes express and kicks me off two stops too soon.

We’re down to 34.

2 hours of my week are spent “in between” things – mainly class and work. That means I eat and zone out and keep Elena from doing her work and do Absolutely Necessary Homework.

32.

I’m awake until 10 most nights, but after 9, count me out. There go 5 more.  Wednesday nights are a bust… and Mondays too. 3 hours gone.

I have to shower once in awhile. If you add blowdrying in, I’m in a state of bathing 2 hours during the work week.

22 hours.

I have to get dressed and out the door, too. Which takes more time than it ought to, really.

18 hours.

I have to do homework. My Reference professor told me that for every credit hour, a grad student is expected to spend 2-3 hours doing out of class work every week.

With a low estimate of my scholarship, that leaves me at -2.

No wonder I never feel like

I have time to do

anything

at all

with any sort of

regularity

or focus.

:-/

Leave a Reply

