feeding my family

Grad school sucks.

Hormones suck.

Being away from my family sucks.

Being a productive human being sucks.

My boyfriend is sick, which means I probably will be too.

My kitty is still cute, but she bites me a lot.

Life is a meaningless misery.

A totally meaningless misery.

But once or twice a week, I make granola.

We eat it every day for breakfast with milk and raisins.

~

And once or twice a week, I steam broccoli.

It’s pretty tasty, and gives us vitamins and minerals and phytochemicals.

~

And two or three times a week, we’re both home at the same time, so I make some food.

Something simple. The same recipes over and over again so I start to memorize.

~

And every day, I feed my kitty.

But I won’t show you a picture. Her diet looks pretty gross. She seems to like it, though.

2 Comments to “feeding my family”

  1. Wait, but where is the recipe for that granola? Otherwise, I’ll be forced to take drastic measures like. . . make less awesome granola from a subpar recipe.

    • I took it from somewhere, but then butchered/simplified it beyond recognition. So here ya go:

      2 cups rolled oats
      1 cup walnut bits (or other nut bits)

      Stir those together in a big bowl

      1/4 cup vegetable/canola oil
      1/4 cup honey

      Drizzle those over top, then mix it up

      1/2 cup shredded coconut (sweet or unsweet… I use sweet because apparently nobody in Boston likes unsweet coconut)

      Stir that in.

      Spread it on a baking pan, and toast at 350 for 15-25 minutes, stirring after every 5 minutes.

      Tada!

      So easy. Tasts like breakfast cereal, but not 4 bucks a box.

Leave a Reply

