Library (Student) Day In The Life

Back in July, I caught wind of this fun event called Library Day In The Life. So I captured a riveting day in my own life as a Library Assistant. Really enthralling. Read it. There’s arguments, the quitting of jobs, teen violence, racism, and me, kicking delinquent teenagers to the streets. Oh, and a librarian bun.

That was round 3. Yesterday was round 4. I can’t believe six months has gone by. I have been living here for almost 6 months?? Really?

Anyway, I am no longer a Youth Library Assistant in a bitchin’ rural-ey library. I am now a library student. I study library science and children’s literature full time at a private college in Boston. Which should be enough info for you to figure out where I go to school, but not enough for my school to Google me and kick me out for using the word “bitchin’.” Although that last sentence was somewhat of a delusion. Hi, school! Don’t worry, I won’t sully your good name.

This is my first full week of my second semester

6:20 a.m. Alarm goes off. Wake up without snooze! (1 Self Actualization Point awarded)

6:25 a.m. Get very excited when the kitten eats her dry food after being sick all weekend, much to my motherly distress. Exclaim loudly to boyfriend, who is on his way out the door for work.

6:30 – 7:15 a.m. Write three pages, longhand in a notebook, a la Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way, something I dabble with here and there. I think I wrote about my sick kitty, then remembered that I checked out a book of poetry from the library specifically so I could read a poem and then write something about it, so I would feel more Artist-y and less Self-Absorbed-y. So I did that. (2 SAPs). Also, watched Someone Like You, which is a bad, bad movie. (-1 SAP)

7:15 – 8:15 a.m. 2 fried eggs, 1 piece of cinnamon toast, 1 bowl of fruit from my anniversary gift. And last night’s Big Love. Have I mentioned my love of HBO and Showtime On Demand? Oh. I love it.

8:15 – 10:00 a.m. Worked on an assignment for my picturebook class. I have four colors of construction paper – blue, yellow, black and white – and with it, I must cut and paste two scenes. The one I made today was a scary scene where a bird is attacking someone. Awesome. I think it’s done, but we use this removable glue that turns everything into Post-Its, so I will probably be lifting and repositioning. I already took my bird’s eyes off when I saw my picture in the hallway.

While I watched Juno.

10:00-11:30 a.m. Took a shower. Blow dried my hair. Ate some cheese and crackers and got duped by my refrigerator as to it’s Diet Coke contents. As in, THERE WAS NONE IN MY FRIDGE. Very upsetting news. Soothed myself by reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan and watching a little 16 and Pregnant.

11:30 – 12:00 p.m. Wii Fit. Actually did some of the strength moves for once. The whole top row (leg extensions, push ups, lunges, side twists and jacknifes), then Expert Aerobic Boxing, Advanced Step (which now add a little 5 lb weight routine too… throws off my rhythm like what, but I like a challenge), Soccer Ball heading, and Rhythm Kung Fu. (+1 SAP)

12:00 – 1:00 p.m. True Life: I’m Addicted to Meds. Worked on my second picture for picturebook class – the same thing that was being attacked, now comforting a bird. A lot harder than the first one. Tried one idea out, but apparently I can’t cut out a small paper bird for the life of me, much less on that needs comforting. Kitty attacks scissors, scraps of paper, and sits under the book I have balanced on my crossed legs and peeks out at me. Exclaiming that she is again, behaving like a healthy cat!

1:00 – 2:15 p.m. True Life: I Can’t Afford My Lifestyle. Started to get dressed and wearing makeup and such. Made lunch – goat cheese and tomatos toasted on a ciabatta roll with spinach and pesto mayo, and a smoothie with frozen berries, vanilla soy milk, and a banana. Mmmmm…. and packed some snacks for later.

2:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Don rain boots and gigantic red and white striped umbrella. Count out change, stuff into pockets. Plug ears into iPod – Columbine by Dave Cullen (a little light afternoon listening, and I swear the voice actor was also the narrator for King’s Quest VI). Take the bus to school. Get very wet in the process.

3:00 – 3:30 p.m. Epic quest to find suitably affordable and suitably cold caffeinated beverage. Shouldn’t have taken me a half hour….. but it did.

3:30 – 5:30 p.m. Work. I no longer work in a library. Sad, I know. Although, on Friday, I was in charge of moving all the books on bookshelves, rearranging them, and then dusting. Which is kind of like working in a library. And I made a lot of copies. Also similar.

5:30 – 6:00 p.m. Head over to the school’s library to hunt down a stack of picturebooks. On February 24th, I have to turn in an assignment for my picturebook class, an assignment that requires I read 120 picturebooks by specific illustrators, and write 1 page papers on 50 of those books. So yeah, I’m already hunting for picturebooks on a weekly basis. Heck, on a three or four times weekly basis.

6:00 – 9:00 p.m. My first library class of the semester!! Child Literature and Media! Excitment…. but must this class REALLY start at 6:00 p.m?

First impressions: Love my prof – funny, professional, super smart, but class will be strange. I’m also working towards an MA in children’s literature… these two perspectives were clashing LOUDLY in my mind. Librarians wield a tremendous amount of power in the children’s lit world – they are responsible for buying a huge percentage of the mass of American children’s books, give out the only kid lit awards that consistently boost a book’s sales, and are usually outspoken advocates for the books on a small scale (hand “selling” books every day) or a large scale (reaching out to schools and communities, writing professional articles and book reviews, blogging, etc)

Librarians are influential. But books are still, ultimately, a product. A THING we all like and we want to use to do something (to entertain, to educate, fund further years of library services).

In my other classes, books are pieces of art. Things to be studied. Respected. Completely separate from the hands that made them and the minds that will consume them.

Holy dizzy brain, batman.

I contributed only a single thought to the class discussion, since mostly these thoughts were whirring madly around in my mind, and it was a controversial one, one that’s never EVER crossed my mind before.

Is it our job, as children’s librarians, to get all kids to Love Books as much as we do? Or is it enough to make sure they CAN read and that they know where the books are?

Well that’s obviously a post for another day.

Oh, and I also got a headache at some point during this class that throbbed up the back of my neck. Ow. Ow. I slept on the futon for three or four hours on Sunday morning with my sick kitty, and am still paying for it.

9:00 Successfully added money to my CharlieCard onboard  the 39 bus. Oh, Elena, what would I do without you?

9:30-10:30 Lay on the couch and talk to my boyfriend. Exclaim loudly that I don’t want to go to sleep because it will be too much work. Lance exclaims back that he did the dishes for me. I exclaim my gratitude even more loudly, and then ask him to wash my face.

10:30 Try to kiss kitten goodnight. She bites my face.

2 Responses to “Library (Student) Day In The Life”

  1. Cullen , who first reported on the story for the online magazine Salon, acknowledges in the book’s source notes that thoughts he attributes to Klebold and Harris are conjecture gleaned from the record the pair left behind.

    Jeff Kass takes a more straightforward approach in “Columbine: A True Crime Story,” working backward from the events of the fateful day.
    The Denver Post

    Mr. Cullen insists that the killers enjoyed “far more friends than the average adolescent,” with Harris in particular being a regular Casanova who “on the ultimate high school scorecard . . . outscored much of the football team.” The author’s footnotes do not reveal how he knows this; when I asked him about it while preparing this review, Mr. Cullen said he did not necessarily mean to imply that Harris was sexually active. But what else would such words mean?

    “Eric and Dylan never had any girlfriends,” the more sober Mr. Kass writes, and were “probably virgins upon death.”
    Wall Street Journal

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

