five days!

This really hasn’t been my week. I was a little bit sick over the weekend and ever since then my motivation levels have sunk beyond recognition. I wake up and feel sleepy, get dressed and feel sleepy, go to work and feel sleepy. I’m getting my 8 hours (or close to it), which means yes, I am going to bed at 10:30 every night, but it doesn’t seem to help. Resorting to artificial stimulants again. “Being too hard on myself,” I’m reluctant to chalk it up to the ebb and flow of the seasons, or the wear and tear of the semester. I must be doing something wrong, here, there’s something I can fix.

I’ll let you know if I ever figure out what that is.

Anyway, I have some exciting news for you.

News #1: Phillip Hoose takes home the National Book Award!

If you guys missed my earlier post, I’ll let you know that I am taking a course called The Writer’s Achievement, in which we read the entire body of an author’s work, and then have the unique privilege to have that author visit our very small class and chat with us. In this case, Mr. Hoose’s editor at Farrar, Straus and Giroux, Melanie Kroupa, stopped by for a bit as well. Here is what I had to say about the experience.

Hoose’s 2009 book, Claudette Colvin: Twice Towards Justice was nominated for an NBA the week before we were slated to read it for class, about two weeks before Mr. Hoose was slated to visit our class. As a class, we had a collective stake in his success, especially when he talked about the difficulties nonfiction written for youth faces in the critical, award-centered publishing world. We were all rooting for him. And he took the award home last night, accepting alongside Ms. Colvin herself. And he wore the same sweater he wore to class. Little insider info there.

It’s really a unique book, very informative, interesting, and very personal. Both book and author definitely worthy of national praise and attention.

News #2: Jessica and Lance are getting a kitten!

But not until we go home for Christmas.

Because right now, it looks like this:

It’s the orange one!

How we are going to get a kitten from Michigan to Massachusetts is another story. One that either Lance will deal with, in the car, by himself, or one that will cost 69 dollars and require me to sacrifice my carry-on space, and therefore another 15 bucks.

There’s really a kind of long, funny story about how these kittens came to be, but I’m too sleepy to figure out how to translate it into the written word.

Remind me to tell it later.

Leave a Reply

