The Book Bucket List

Another rift in my reading schedule. Last time, I decided to read ahead. It was beneficial, but the pages caught up with me again. I have it under control for the upcoming week, mostly due to this little thing called Veteran’s Day. Gee, East Coasters get the *weirdest* holidays… So I could read ahead to a week from Monday, but by the sheer grace of the God of Children’s Literature, I’ve read Locomotion (that Jackie Woodson) and Octavian Nothing (twice!). I don’t feel a need to get a jump (those of you who’ve read Octavian can laugh at that).

I do feel the need for that little rush associated with the opening of a new book.

My boss asked me yesterday if I was sick of children’s lit yet.

Decidedly, no. As long as I can keep opening new books and finding new stories, it doesn’t matter if it’s children’s or adult, classic or contemporary, trashy or weighty. I’ve always been a reader, but this is a quality learned in grad school for certain. I just want more. It’s the impetus that drives me through 6-7 books a week – the thought that if I finish, I can start another.

So I’m going off-canon for the weekend.

But then I’ll be back on. I’m not even sure I’ll be able to finish this bad boy in time to resume my regularly scheduled reading…

so that’s why I invented

The Book Bucket List

  • The ones mentioned in class that I can’t CAN’T remember reading
  • The ones I remember reading but want to read again with new eyes
  • The ones I see in the bookstore and think “Hm. I should read that when I’m not reading 7 books a week”
  • The books that look good but you know you’ll forget if you don’t write them on the last page of your planner

1. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

2. Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

3. Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh

4. Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White

5. The Last American Man by Elizabeth Gilbert

6. This Boy’s Life by Tobias Wolff

7. Atlas: Poems by Katrina Vandenberg

8. When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

9. Zeitoun by Dave Eggers

10. My Life in France by Julia Child

11. Brief Interviews with Hideous Men by David Foster Wallace

12. The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

13. A Tree Grows In Brooklyn by Betty Smith

14. The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling

15. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

16. The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, vol II: The Kingdom on the Waves by M.T. Anderson

17. These Is My Words by Nancy Turner

 

So far, the list is manageable. I’m sure it will grow to be unwieldy and useless, but for right now, I’m excited for my Christmas break, in which I will be free to read read read whatever I want (whatever I want!!) and I hope to knock a few off the list.

Says she who has read 100 books in 10 months.

I’m a sick, sick individual.

3 Comments to “The Book Bucket List”

  1. Great list. I am so surprised you haven’t read Twilight yet! I’ll be interested to hear what you think.

    • I did read the first one, 2006-7ish when nobody else had read it. I had a little Vampire Lust while I read, but it passed, and I lost interest right about the time everyone went nuts, so I never read the rest of the bunch.

      However, my sisters are all very non-fanatically addicted to the books, so I’d like to see what the fuss is about. I’m not above a little Harry-Potter-esque “I want to find out what happens SO BAD I wish I could read them all at once!” mania in my life 🙂

  2. I can’t wait to hear what you think of Her Fearful Symmetry. I’m like 124,o90,934 on the library waiting list for it so maybe I’ll splurge and buy it for reading while I’m traveling to and from Boston this week.

    Reading your Bucket List brought back so many good book memories…especially A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. LOVE that book.

Leave a Reply

