there and back

This is the last day of a nice weekend off from school work. Thank you, New England, for offering Lance and I this holiday. Thank you, District of Columbia, for offering my friend Frank this holiday. Frank and Sadie flew in late Friday night and left this afternoon. Another whirlwind weekend of Bostony goodness. Really cramming it all in. A lot of sightseeing, tasty eating, alcohol imbibing and general good times. Our pocketbooks might be lighter, but it was a satisfying indulgence.

Tonight, it’s back to work. I finished reading We Were There, Too! by Phillip Hoose a few hours ago and have moved on to The Race to Save the Lord God Bird. I hope to finish it this evening so tomorrow can be all about Marxism – my group is presenting next week for 90 freaking minutes – and oh, reading two more books by Phillip Hoose. Taking time to play, unfortunately, leads to less time to do your work. This goes for schoolwork as well as regular. I’ll be working 8 hour shifts Thursday and Friday this week. I’ll be working on that presentation. I’ll be scrapping together a paper, if I have time.

Sigh.

This Academic Life.

I went to the woods because I wanted to live deliberately, I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, To put to rout all that was not life and not when I had come to die Discover that I had not lived.

Leave a Reply

