Summer Reading List: So Far, So Good

1. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

A family goes a year eating only good grown from their garden, or by their neighbors. File this one in the Will Potentially Change My Life book list. Save it for a week when you can read it straight through, and by golly, make sure you read it by next March. You’ll be ready to plant something, and will be upset if it’s too late

2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

16-year-old girl finds herself fighting her peers to the death while the event is nationally televised in a Future America. First book in awhile that left me with that Harry-Potter feeling. You know… the feeling that makes you reach blindly for the next book before you’ve barely turned the last page. Unfortunately, this book is not yet published, ALTHOUGH advanced readers ARE about, and if I don’t find one at  ALA, I will be peeved. This is a good one for all kinds of readers. As I mentioned, my boy read it first, at the reccomendation of my mother. I was third, with 13-year-old Dorothy hot on my heels, and then, in a suprise move, my FATHER polished it off while they were on vacation!

3. Along For The Ride by Sarah Dessen

Auden moves in with her dad, stepmom, and new baby sister for the summer before senior year, ripping her from her comfortable academic setting and forcing her do to things like wear pink, ride a bike, and talk to boys. Everything  you’d ever want from a Sarah Dessen book, I guarantee you. Reminiscent of This Lullabye (my fave) with a summery feel, over-achieving narrator, and pack of plucky girlfriends. Loved it.

4. The Treasure Map of Boys by E. Lockhart

Ruby Oliver book #3. Roo is back to school after an Incident involving The Boy She Likes… who also happens to be The Boy Her Only Friend On The Planet Likes, and school-related drama happens over-and-over-again to poor, mentally distressed Roo. E. Lockhart does it again. This one was extra heartbreaking – she does an excellent job of capturing JUST HOW DAMN HARD it is to be a teenager, without a hint of whining or melodrama.

One Comment to “Summer Reading List: So Far, So Good”

  1. I read Along for the Ride & really liked it too. I haven’t read any of the Ruby Oliver books though…need to get on that cuz I loved Frankie!

Leave a Reply

