what my world is full of

Literary Meme

– cause I really love books –

photo by gaspi

1. What author do you own the most books by?

Ooooh good question. I have all 5 of Megan McCafferty’s, plus this book of essays she edited. I have a ton of Phyllis Reynolds Naylor’s Alice books.

But I think E. Lockhart might win out, just out of strange accumulation. Boyfriend List: ARC,  a hardback we found for 2 dollars at a thrift store, and one audio from a contest I won. Fly On The Wall: One copy, and one contest audio. The Boy Book: two copies, one mine and one Caroline’s cause we were living separately and didn’t know the other had bought. Dramarama: ARC & a hardback I won in said contest. How To Be Bad: ARC. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks: ARC.

That’s 11 books!
2. What book do you own the most copies of?

I don’t collect multiple editions, but I know for a face I have doubles of the above books ^^^ as well as Rats Saw God by Rob Thomas, Summer Sisters by Judy Blume, due to wear and tear and library discards 🙂

3. What fictional character are you secretly in love with?

I’ve kind of have a crush on Len Levy from Megan McCafferty’s books. He was the class nerd before being a nerd was cool, and then when being a nerd became cool, he was still a nerd (albeit a better dressed, more ambitious nerd)

And even though I’m not supposed to, I hold a candle for Jackson Clarke from E. Lockhart’s Ruby Oliver series.

4. What book have you read more than any other?

I’ve read Summer Sisters every year, on vacation, for about 9 years.

5. What was your favorite book when you were ten years old?

1995, eh? I believe I was all about Alice at that point, and Paula Danziger’s Amber Brown, and probably a lot of Babysitter’s Club.

6. What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?

I really didn’t like Jellicoe Road (for some barely tangible reason), but I’m not sure it was the WORST book… I mean, I did read the first Clique book last year. Surely, that book was worse.

7. What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?

Best of 2008 was determined to be Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer. Best of 2009, so far? I’m gonna have to give it up to The Bluest Eye. Kudos to Toni Morrison!

8. If you could tell everyone reading this to read one book, what would it be?

I’m gonna advocate for YA as well as spurring social change and go with Feed by M.T. Anderson

9. What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?

Difficult to understand? The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, vol I: The Pox Party by M.T. Anderson. Well, War and Peace was pretty tough, but I didn’t finish it so it doesn’t count. Mrs. Dalloway was pretty intense as well.

Difficult, emotionally? In Cold Blood kind of sucked.

10. Do you prefer the French or the Russians?

Well, I liked The Little Prince but did not like War and Peace, so France ftw.

11. Shakespeare, Milton or Chaucer?

None. Because I am a literary heathen.

12. Austen or Eliot?

Austen because I’ve actually read a book of hers.

13. What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?

A lot of classics. That huge list of 1001 books you should read before you die? I’ve read about 20. THAT’S embarrassing. It just takes a lot for me to start reading one, to finish one, to really get INTO a classic. I suffer from literary ADD. It’s gotta REALLY grip me, or be under 250 pages.

14. What is your favorite novel?

Oh goodness. I always have trouble with these questions – Favorite is so final, so definite. So in order to ease myself, I always take Favorite questions as if they were phrased “If you had to pick five *fill-in-the-blanks* that would appear in your top ten, what would they be?” So here’s those five:

1. The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

2. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

3. Summer Sisters by Judy Blume

4. The Giver by Lois Lowry

5. Walden by Henry David Thoreau (not really a novel,  but whatevs)

15. Play?

Hmmm…. Raisin in the Sun wasn’t bad, from what I recall.

16. Poem?

Cliche choice? “Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening” – Robert Frost (love love love it)

Not so cliche (or maybe it is, who knows) “i like my body when it is with your” – e.e. cummings

17. Essay?

Not sure the line between creative nonfic short story/essay/article but I’m a fan of Augusten Burroughs, David Sedaris, and Anne Lamott.

19. Non Fiction?

This is a little like choosing my favorite novel… so let’s apply the above rules

1. Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer

2. In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan

3. Boy by Roald Dahl

4. Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott

5. A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers

20. Graphic Novel?

I don’t need a list. Blankets by Craig Thompson. Gets me every time.

21. Science Fiction?

I don’t read any hardcore sci-fi, but I’m definitely in favor of Slaughterhouse-5 by Kurt Vonnegut & Feed by M.T. Anderson.

22. Who is your favorite writer?

I will run out and buy anything  by the following: John Green, Laurie Halse Anderson, Sarah Dessen & E. Lockhart.

23. Who is the most overrated writer alive today?

I’m gonna have to go with Stephenie Meyer. Not that she doesn’t deserve praise for her work – she does – but it’s not the WRITING that had anything to do with her success, in my opinion.

24. What are you reading right now?

Heh heh. Uh. This is about to get embarrassing.

The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp (gym book)

The Senator’s Wife by Sue Miller (audio book)

Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter (book to read at work)

Cat’s Cradle (book that lays about my house)

Marian Anderson: The Voice That Challenged a Nation by Russell Freedman (book that I really ought to finish some time soon)

Reading Like A Writer by Francine Prose (see above)

[that’s a lot of half-read book. even for me.]

25. Best Memoir?

I threw a few into the Non-Fic section, but here are some un-represented ones I’ve liked

1. Babycatcher by Peggy Vincent

2. The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

3. Running With Scissors by Augusten Burroughs

4. Wasted by Marya Hornbacher

5. Beautiful Boy by David Scheff

26. Best History?

Oy vey. I don’t read a lot of history. As mentioned, I liked Under the Banner of Heaven.

27. Best Mystery or Noir?

For a time in my young life, I couldn’t get enough of Lillian Jackson Braun (The Cat Who Mysteries) and Diane Mott Davidson (catering mysteries) and I did read a whole slew of Noir novels for a class and I’d have to say my favorite was….. I Married a Dead Man by Cornell Woolrich

One Comment to “what my world is full of”

  1. Okay, I’m convinced we have very similar taste now…Dahl, Lamott, Green, Halse Andersen, etc etc. 🙂

    And #2 for Frankie…I absolutely LOVE that book!

Leave a Reply

