Career Objectives: get paid to read books

I’m having trouble with my personal statement, for my grad school apps.

As in, I’m having trouble coming up with much more than “I want to be a librarian. Please let me go to your school. I’ll give you money and get good grades. Promise.”

There’s one app that asks for my “Career Objectives.” 250 words. Cake.

Right?

The funny thing about procrastination is that once I start procrastinating one aspect of my life, I want to procrastinate everything. I’m reading a nice pile of good books right now. Working on my 2009 goal of Reading More Broadly, I have an Adult Fiction book (What Is The What by Dave Eggers), an Adult Nonfic (Measure of a Man by Sidney Poitier), a YA (rereading Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen), an audiobook (1776 by David McCullough), a Study-This-And-Learn-How-To-Write-It Book (Dramarama by E. Lockhart) and two juvenile books on deck (The Underneath by Kathi Appelt and Good Masters, Sweet Ladies by Laura Amy Schlitz)…

But I want to read my Christmas books instead.

I’m procrastinating both writing this essay AND reading the books I am already reading.

Oy.

Perhaps I should sneak something about my obsession deep appreciation for books into that there personal essay…

1. The Scene Book by Sandra Scofield

2. Still Life With Woodpecker by Tom Robbins

3. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

4. Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott

5. In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan

6. The Smile by Donna Jo Napoli

7. State by State ed. by Matt Weiland and Sean Wilsey

Please don’t even ask me about my library books. It seems every “oh, I should put that on hold” book from the past month has arrived. And each of them are just OH so tempting…


4 Comments to “Career Objectives: get paid to read books”

  1. Hey, for whatever reason I can’t subscribe to your livejournal version of this on bloglines anymore, so this’ll have to do.

    I’m just so damn proud of myself for having read 2 books that are on your list! YES!

    • no worries, i’m double posting on wordpress now so you won’t miss anything
      which two did you read?!?!? did you like them?

  2. I read “Living Dead Girl” (sickly addictive, still not so great) and Thirteenth Tale (reeeeeeally sweet, especially for a first-time writer)

    • I read Living Dead Girl, actually, and I had the same reaction as you. Not so much a Reading Experience… more of a long, kind of tawdry magazine article?

      and I look forward to Thirteenth Tale. Everyone tells me it’s pretty cool 🙂

Leave a Reply

