a lot of stuff going on for one unconscious girl

You know what’s more annoying than an abandoned blog?

When the author returns and says “oh gosh, I’m sorry I’ve been away!”

I have been away!

But not for good reason.

The last few weeks of my life have passed in a complete daze. Ever since I returned from Chicago, I’ve been drifting in and out of consciousness, I swear.

But here’s what I think I’ve been up to:

1. Working

Yes, I have been working a lot. And lately, The Work has been leaving me physically/emotionally drained upon my arrival home.

I know I’m not supposed to Write About Work (Blogging Code #1, I think), but I think I can at least tell you this:

Last October, my boss took a trip to South Africa, where she’d previously lived for a year or so (I think) doing some kind of selflessservice-type thing. During this second visit, she became reacquainted with a man who she’d worked with before. Shortly after her stateside return, we surmised she had a new boyfriend. Over Christmas, he proposed over Skype and she said yes. By New Years, they’d decided to get married duringhis already planned visit to the U S of A, in March, and she would move to South Africa in June.

Her last day was last week.

I tell you this story because it is just soooooooooooo cute.

And also, it has a few implications for me:

A) I have adopted some of my boss’s hours. This is my first week at 32 instead of 24.

B) Everything/everyone at work is in an upheaval… which is just what everyone needs three weeks shy of Summer Reading.

GOOD TIMES!!

Maybe I should just try to get a job at the Hogwarts Library. It seems like a nice, quiet place to work where the kids are well-behaved and dedicated to their studies. Although my Freedom of Information Instincts don’t really like the idea of that Restricted Section, so maybe not…***

2. Driving To And From Work

I have become extremely acquainted with my particular stretch of highway. I can pretty much talk you through my entire drive…

Driving through town…

“Oh, I should stop at the gas station. Hey gas station girls! Rockstars are still 2 for 3? Awesome! No, I don’t want a fifty cent cookie, but thanks. Oh, and thanks for saving that last 99 cent, discontinued, obscure energy juice for me! And for retrieving my debit card from the parking lot last week! You guys rock!”

Merging onto the highway…

“HELLO TRUCKS!??!? DO YOU NOT SEE ME MERGING ONTO THE FLIPPING HIGHWAY THAT MEANS YOU NEED TO CHANGE MOTHERF#$#ING LANES!”

Driving…

“Oh, hi Dead Deer that’s legs are standing straight up!”

Driving…

“Hello, twin Dead Raccoons!”

Driving…

“Hi, Person-Sized Tree By The Side of the Road That I Always Think Is A Hitchhiker!”

Driving…

“Hi, Wing Flapping Dead Turkey!”

Driving…

“Hi, Creepy, Horny Trucker Who Will Honk At Any Hemline Above The Knee!”

Driving…

“Hello, Creepy Horny Trucker’s Friend Who Just Got a CB Radio Message That There Was An Inch of Knee Flesh In The Green Dodge Intrepid! And by ‘hi’ I definitely mean STOP HONKING AT ME! IT’S SCARY!”

Driving…

“Hi, Dead Coyote/Dog Thing!”

Pulling Into Work…

“Wow, I’m really early/really late!”

3. Having Anxiety Dreams

I woke up this morning with the very strong urge to go and find my little sister’s new portable speaker set. I needed them to flesh out this display I was working on entitled “Writing My Second Novel,” the follow up to my Honors Senior Project. I thought I would have some audio for my display, plug in my iPod and blast the playlist that helped me write this book, and it was VERY important that I get my ass out of bed and find the speakers NOW. The presentation was going up in a few hours, and I hadn’t actually WRITTEN a second novel yet, so I really-really-really needed to put on some glitz so that no one would notice. I mean, I’d wasted enough time trying to get my boyfriend to call a cab so we could get back to my house in time for me to get set up, and I had to go now now NOW!

It took me awhile to realize that I wasn’t still dreaming.

4. Restoring My Laptop To Its Former Glory

I picked up my computer on Monday. It is Shiny and New! And by Shiny and New! I mean

- brand new  hard-drive, absent of anything useful (Limewire, VLC, seasons of Arrested Development, elaborate Bookmarking Systems)

- replacement keyboard, top casing, trackpad (Shiny! White! New! Completely Not Neccessary But Completely Free!)

- no longer necessary to shove CDs in with great force (Oh, I LOVE YOU GENIUSES!)

- THEY EVEN CLEANED THE FLIPPING FINGERPRINTS OFF MY SCREEN

But,

I have a lot to do.

I had to figure out how to enable double-finger tap for right clicks. (Pssst: System Preferences>Trackpad>Trackpad Gestures>Click the “Clicking” box and the option will MAGICALLY appear!)

I have to remember which corner of my screen is supposed to do what (Exposé: can’t live with you, can’t live without you)

I have to take more Photobooth pictures. So far these are all I got:

And I need to put more music on.

So I can make mix CDs.

That aren’t just combinations of two mix CDs I recently recieved (THANKS ANDY & SAM!) and high school honors choir and Jay Z.

5. Watching What I Eat

Before anyone gets their panties into a twist about Skinny Old Me Watching MY Weight…

well, I don’t care. This isn’t between you and me. It’s between me and my pants. Which I currently want to unbutton SO VERY BADLY.

And the fact that I ripped a big old hole in the crotch of my only pair of jeans… a pair of jeans I bought a size bigger than I’d like to buy, with the hopes that I would slim out of them before I needed a new pair.

A pair of jeans that I don’t even want to put on because The Desire To Unbutton and subsequent Muffin Top.

Anyway. I’m not on a diet. I’m just trying to be more conscious of the food I feed myself with. Choosing health over convenience. Being okay with feeling hungry (I won’t die on my way home from work – no need to stop at McD’s). Planning ahead in terms of lunches instead of eating takeout sandwiches. Reintroducing vegetables to my life. Not eating a cookie every time I walk into the break room at work. That kind of stuff.

Oh, and cooking.

I think cooking is great.

I mean, what better way to be conscious about your diet than to make it yourself? And it’s really a great appetite suppressant – it’s hard to be hungry when you’re handling food, and when you’re done, you’ll be extra hungry for all your hard work.

I made these really good and easy roasted tomatoes.

And this kind of labor intensive but sour&delish Meyer lemon sorbet. (Used this recipe, but I don’t have an ice cream maker, so I just mixed it up in my Kitchenaid mixing bowl and put the whole bowl in the freezer. Wait an hour and a half, then take it out and mix it up with the whisk attachment for a minute or two, then put it back in the freezer and repeat Every Half Hour until it… uh… looks like sorbet and not yellow goo)

Homemade Balsalmic Vinaigrette for my daily lunch salads (Arugula + Spinach + George Forman’ed Chicken + Dressing = Lunch For A Week)

Oh, and I made a double batch of The Potato Salad To End All Potato Salad. I go easy on the mayo and heavy on the dijon. Added an extra egg. I Could Eat It All Day Long!

5. Getting Extremely Excited For This Game

So there you have it. See you again in two weeks, kay?

***P.S. I don’t want to leave my job, even to work at Hogwarts, I promise. I have a new boss and she is super cool, and yeah, it’s the coolest. Did you catch that line about cookies in the break room? THERE ARE COOKIES IN THE BREAK ROOM ALMOST EVERY DAY. The only thing that could improve upon my job is if A) it were right outside my doorstep instead of 45 minutes away and B) if we could have a TV in the breakroom so I could watch stuff while I eat lunch. The end.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

