Archive for May 10th, 2009

May 10, 2009

get out of the kitchen

When I like you a lot, I will cook for you.

Not only do I think highly enough to spend my time/energy/stress-hormones on these special people, I also feel safe enough to risk making a fool of myself when my food doesn’t turn quite to plan…

I like my Mom a lot. So I made her an omelet with these farm-fresh, rainbow tinted eggs that a library board member left for the staff.

She didn’t mind that it was a little too runny AND a little too browned.

I like my mom SO much, that I would make her a dessert. A special dessert of cupcakes! Fancy cupcakes. Fancy, delicious cupcakes made specially by me. And when does ONE batch of cupcakes ever seem like enough? I’ll bake a double batch. So much cupcake batter, it touches the brim of the mixer bowl.

So many cupcakes, you have to double stack on the cooling racks, and put the cooked cakes back INTO the empty cupcake pans….

Yikes.

Oh, did I mention that I got messy?

Lance was here. When I had to leave the room for a few minutes, he stepped in and made himself useful.

And about 6 hours later, they were done.

ALL 54 OF THEM.

The nice thing about making 54 cupcakes? I had plenty to drop on the floor (2) break in half (3) and glaze with this rum-lime-sugar glaze that I might have cooked a LITTLE too long, creating some kind of sour caramel that welds your jaws shut with one bite (6)

So the vegan in the house had to eat her cupcakes naked. I used a recipe from Martha Stewart to whip up some cream cheese frosting for the rest of us lactose-eaters, sprinkled on a little sweetened coconut, and HAPPY MOTHERS DAY!

Vegan Coconut & Lime Cupcakes

from Mac & Cheese

1 ⅔ cups granulated sugar
⅔ cup vegetable oil
1 14-ounce can coconut milk (we found it by the Asian foods!)
¼ cup rice or soy milk
¼ cup lime juice, (key lime or regular)
3 tablespoons grated lime zest
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 ½ cup shredded coconut, (sweetened or unsweetened)

  • For the cake, combine sugar, oil, coconut milk, rice milk, lime juice and zest, and vanilla in a large bowl.
  • Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into the wet ingredients in batches, mixing well after each addition. Mix in the coconut.
  • Pour the batter into a greased mini-cupcake pan, and bake for 18 minutes in a pre-heated 350° oven, or until the cake is done. Let cool.

So when I finished, I was a little tired, covered in every ingredient listed above, had loaded and unloaded 4 washers full of dishes, and I still had committed to roasting some asparagus for dinner
(di-VINE, by the way), and oh, Lance was hanging around the house and occasionally setting up my computer in the kitchen so I could watch freshly-downloaded episodes of Season 5 of LOST while I sifted and zested my little heart out.

I just love my Mommy so much.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.